Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Books & Media, January 2019

Library Collections

The North Central Michigan College Library uses the Dewey Decimal classification system. Books are shelved according to the Dewey number scheme. Numbering approximately 20,000, the print Library collections supports classroom learning and contains materials covering the core academic disciplines of the college.

  • Circulating Collection
  • Fiction Collection
  • Government Documents Collection
  • Native American Collection
  • New Book Collection
  • Oversized Collection
  • Reference Collection
  • Children's Literature & Graphic Novel Collections
  • DVD Collection

Library Cards

All NCMC students, faculty and staff are automatically issued library accounts. For students, their campus ID card serves as their library card. Staff and faculty are asked to use their campus ID as well for their library card. Please have your card on-hand when coming to the Library to check out materials.  

Library cards are available to community members. As tax payers, residents of Emmet County receive cards free-of-charge. Those living outside of Emmet county are charged $15.00 per year for a card. Visit the Library Circulation Desk to obtain a card. 

Borrowing Policies

LOAN PERIODS:

Item Students/Guests Faculty/Staff*
General Collection 21 days, 2 renewals 60 days, 2 renewals
Reserves 3 hours, in-library use N/A
DVDs 7 days, 2 renewals 14 days, 2 renewals
Reference books 3 days (most), no renewals 7 days, 1 renewal
Periodicals non-circulating non-circulating**

*Loan periods for Faculty/Staff can be adjusted, as needed. Please email library@ncmich.edu or call 231-348-6615 to discuss.

**Contact Stephanie Davis (231-348-6715 or sdavis2@ncmich.edu) for exceptions.

 

FINE AMOUNTS:

Fines on overdue items accumulate at the following rates:

Type of item Fee
Books $0.05 per day (1 day grace period)
DVDs $0.05 per day (1 day grace period)
Reserve items $0.05 per hour

 

 

BOOK RETURN LOCATIONS:

There are two book drops available for your convenience – one located outside the main doors of the Library building and one located at the Circulation Desk.

 

LOST OR DAMAGED ITEMS:

If an item is lost or damaged, the patron will be charged the replacement cost of the item, plus a $10 processing fee. If the lost item is found by the patron, the replacement cost will be waived, but the processing fee will still be owed. 

 

RESTRICTED ACCOUNTS:

If a patron has a fine of $10 or more, a hold will be placed on the account and they will be unable to check out materials until the fine has been satisfied. If the patron is a student, a hold will be placed at the student account level and they will be unable to register for classes or receive transcripts until the fine is satisfied. Please contact the Library at 231-348-6615 or email library@ncmich.edu with questions.