Skip to main content

Library Resources and Services - during COVID-19

Library resources available to North Central patrons during the COVID-19 adjusted operations

Library Reopening Guidelines

NCMC Library is now open to patrons.

Some library procedures, spaces, and services have been adjusted to ensure the safety of our patrons and staff. These alterations have been made in conjunction with NCMC's re-open grid phase 5 and follow community recommended protocols and procedures. The library has posted instructions throughout the library to assist patrons in acclimating to the library in its socially distanced form. Please contact us if you have any questions about services or space so that we can ensure that we are providing the best services possible. Remember - we're here to help!

In accordance with the NCMC Reopening Grid and recommended library protocols:

  • Masks required for entry and while in the library building.
  • Food and drink not currently allowed in library
  • Social distancing guidelines must be followed
  • Library stacks are closed to browsing. Items requested to be retrieved by library staff
  • All circulating books to be returned via exterior drop box
  • 96 hour quarantine for returned materials may delay requests or returns
  • Interlibrary loan requests are limited to digital items
  • Equivalent library service accommodations are available to any patrons unable to visit library in person

Please note, these recommended protocol are subject to change in conjunction with NCMC policies and procedures.

General Expectations

NCMC Library requests that all patrons consider the health and safety of our campus community when utilizing the library. We request that any patrons:

  • Adhere to college-wide and library requirements for use of facilities and services
  • Wear a properly fitting face covering over your nose and mouth at all times
  • Use the Library for purposeful studying, research, computer use, and check-out activities
  • Frequently wash/sanitize your hands
  • Avoid touching your face
  • Do not eat or drink in the Library
  • Physically distance from Library staff and other patrons/students
  • Use Curbside Pick-up Service when possible
  • Follow Library staff and posted instructions

Spaces and Technology

Study Spaces and Library Computers

Spaces, furniture, and layout of library computers have been modified to encourage social distancing practices. We ask that patrons wipe down surfaces including keyboard and mouse before and after use and sanitize their hands as often as possible while using library equipment and study space. 

Study Rooms

Due to ongoing renovations on campus, study rooms are currently unavailable for booking or use. When renovations are completed, this page will be updated to reflect altered policies, procedures, and availability.

TEAL Lab

The TEAL Lab will be available for limited capacity reservations during library hours of operation beginning September 8, 2020. We ask that NCMC faculty and staff may book the TEAL lab using the link included below. To minimize contact, we ask that those using the TEAL Lab enter from the main hallway rather than from inside the library facility. Guidelines and instructions for room use will be posted in the TEAL lab for reference, and will align with other classroom guidelines as posted and maintained by the college.

Laptop Carts

Faculty and staff who wish to reserve a laptop cart may do so using the button below. Adjusted procedures and cleaning protocol for laptop carts is posted on each cart and is also available at https://ncmich.libguides.com/covid19/equipment.

Collections and Circulation

Online Content

The library offers access to a wide variety of academic journals, ebooks, videos and more through our databases. If you need assistance deciding which database to search, locating evaluating, and using content, contact the library and we'll point you in the right direction! When accessing library content online, you may be prompted to enter your My North Central Portal username and password. For password assistance, contact  helpdesk@ncmich.edu.

To start searching library's online resources, choose a database below, or visit our A-Z Databases page to browse our databases by subject or content type.

Checking Out and Returning Books

Library stacks are currently closed to browsing. Please browse our collections virtually using the library catalog, Koha and then place your request either directly in Koha, by email to library@ncmich.edu, phone 231-348-6315, or in person by visiting the library circulation desk and asking a staff member to retrieve a book for you. If you need immediate access to a title, the fastest option is to stop up at the circulation desk for assistance. Curbside pickup is available for patrons who prefer this method. Please follow instructions listed on our Curbside pickup section of this guide.

To ensure recommended quarantine and disinfection procedures are followed, all books are to be returned to the exterior drop box. The library is not accepting returns in the library at this time. All returned books are set aside for 4 days as recommended by the REALM project. This may cause a slight delay in the processing of returns and in obtaining a title. If you receive an overdue notice and have recently returned a book, please note that there may be a delay in processing items for check in, but you will not be charged late fees.

Checking Out and Returning Equipment and Technology

The library offers a limited number of laptops for short term and long term checkout. Based on equipment availability and patron needs, patrons may check out a laptop for up to the duration of the semester. Patrons can contact the library by phone, email, or in person for details. Return laptops and equipment directly to the library circulation desk. Never return a computer to the library drop box.

Library Stacks

Library stacks are currently closed to browsing. Please browse our collections virtually using the library catalog, Koha and then place your request directly in Koha, by email to library@ncmich.edu, phone 231-348-6315, or in person by visiting the library circulation desk and asking a staff member to retrieve a book for you. If you need immediate access to a title, the fastest option is to stop up at the circulation desk for assistance. If you need assistance locating books on a particular topic, please contact the library for assistance.

Physical Periodicals

Newspapers, magazines, and journals that are held in the library's physical collections are available to use in the library. Patrons are to sanitize their hands before touching any periodicals, and the place the periodicals in the designated deposit box for quarantine after reading.

Library Fines and Late Fees

Late fees for books will be waived during the Fall 2020 semester, however, patrons will be responsible for any missing or damaged books according to listed library policy. If you need an item longer than its original loan period, please renew your item by logging into the library catalog or by contacting the library to let us know.

Patrons will be responsible for fees associated with late, damaged or lost laptops according to the laptop checkout agreement signed at checkout.

Services and Instruction

Reference Assistance

Patrons are welcome to contact the library for reference assistance through a variety of communication channels. We're available to assist in person, by phone, email, or 24/7 chat. See the contact the library box on this page for detailed contact information.

Information Literacy Instruction

Faculty may request information literacy instruction or library orientation delivery from NCMC Library. We can provide these services in person, via Zoom, or asynchronously through self paced modules, videos, or LibGuides. Contact Kendra Lake to plan your class session.

Interlibrary Loan

Current NCMC students, staff, faculty, and trustees may request items not currently held by NCMC library through interlibrary loan. At this time, the library is only accepting and fulfilling requests for online or digital content. Physical book and multimedia requests cannot be fulfilled at this time. Please complete the interlibrary loan request form below to request an item.

Printing and Copying

Patrons may make use of the library copier while following posted procedures and restrictions. Student patrons are allotted 20 black and white pages per day at no charge. Printing in excess of 20 pages costs $.05 per page. Color prints are $.50 each.

Student patrons who may be unable to visit the library but need access to printing may submit their print request for curbside pickup below. Please note due to current materials handling recommendations, this service is available for printing only. You will be notified with pickup instructions via NCMC email when your request is complete.

For any print requests exceeding the daily student allotment, exact change is required at time of pickup. 

Patron Access to Library Services and Content

The library is dedicated to ensuring that all patrons have access to the same services, materials, and resources regardless of ability to be physically present in the library. Library services and content may be accessed by all NCMC students. If you have a question about how to access library content or services remotely, or need library support, please contact us.

Students with additional questions regarding accommodations at NCMC should contact Learning Support Services at 231-348-6682 or lss@ncmich.edu

For all NCMC Covid-19 related communications, visit https://www.ncmich.edu/safety/coronavirus-covid-19.html